Pennsylvania Early Learning Council Ad Hoc Certification Re-Write Subcommittee Members by Subchapter Workgroup

Subchapter Workgroup #1: Purpose and Authority

This Subchapter includes the introduction to the regulations, and outlines their purpose, applicability and definitions.

OCDEL Lead: Jessica Sands (jsands@pa.gov)

Committee members:

Diane Barber (diane.barber@pacca.org)
Executive Director | Pennsylvania Child Care Association
Lemoyne

Kelly Benasutti (kbenasutti@lebanonymca.org)
Director of Childcare Services | Lebanon Valley Family YMCA
Lebanon

Michelle Cooper (mcooper@nuhhce.org)
Director of Advocacy | Child Care Providers United
SE PA

Charles Dinofrio (cdinofrio@lvcconline.org)
President and CEO | Lehigh Valley Children’s Centers Inc.
Allentown

Diane Force (dforce@balahouse.org)
School Director | Bala House Montessori School
Bala Cynwyd

Losa Iliopoulos (littlepeoplesvillage@gmail.com)
Executive Director/Owner | Little People’s Village 1 &.2
Philadelphia

Johanna Jimenez (johanna.jimenez1208@gmail.com)
Child Care Provider | Johanna M. Jimenez Child Care
Philadelphia

Santosh Kang (playwaylovingchildcarecenter@gmail.com)
Director/ owner | Playway loving child care center llc
Erie

Mary Mahoney-Ferster (margar45@hotmail.com)
Community Member
Lewisburg

Sean McAleer (smcaleer@pacatholic.org)
Director of Education | Pennsylvania Catholic Conference
Harrisburg

Samantha Pierpoint (spierpoint@paaap.org)
Assistant Program Director, Breastfeeding Programs | PA Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics
Media

April Powell (btblearningacademy@yahoo.com)
Owner | Beyond Basic Learning Academy
Philadelphia

Lindsey Ramsey (ramseyln09@yahoo.com)
Assistant Director of Policy and Practice | Trying Together
Pittsburgh

Jack Safer (jsafer@brightsideacademy.com)
President & CEO | Brightside Academy
Pittsburgh/Philadelphia

Wenxi Schwab (wschwab@iu28.org)
Family Educator | ARIN 28
Indiana

Jen Segelken (jen.segelken@philaymca.org)
VP, Youth Development | Greater Philadelphia YMCA
Various

Dr. Philip Sirinides (pzs5539@psu.edu)
Director | Penn State Harrisburg
Middletown

Suany Sufran (Sufran.suany@gmail.com)
Owner Daycare | Child Time Learning Daycare
Allentown

Jeffrey Vitale (jeff@monvalleyymca.org)
CEO | Mon Valley YMCA
Monongahela

Subchapter Workgroup #2: Family and Community

This Subchapter includes regulations related to family engagement, communication with parents, procedures for admission, parent consent and services to a child with a developmental delay, disability or special healthcare need.

OCDEL Lead: Judy Fry (judfry@pa.gov)

Committee members:

Jasmin Auguste (Jasauguste@yahoo.com)
Early Learning Specialist | First Up
Philadelphia

Claudia Aust (caust@ymcagbw.org)
Sr. Association Director School Age Child Care | Greater Brandywine YMCA School Age Child Care
Chester County

Laverne Cheeseboro (heavenlymadecreations@gmail.com)
Owner/Director | Heavenly Made Creations
Philadelphia

Wendy Etheridge Smith (wendy.smith@aiu3.net)
Director, Early Childhood, Family, and Community Services | Allegheny Intermediate Unit
Allegheny County

Jackeline Figueroa (jfigueroa@felskids.org)
Head Start and Pre-K Counts Program Coordinator | Federation Early Learning Services
Philadelphia

Tonya Fisher (tlfisher140@comcast.net)
Owner | Busy Bees Daycare
Blanchard

Libertad Gonzalez (LibertyChildcare@hotmail.com)
Family Childcare Provider | Liberty Family Childcare
Lancaster

Sara Gray-Bradley (sbradley@cassd.org)
Executive Director | Cornerstone Youth Home
York

Tylor Hart (Tylor.Hart@alleghenycounty.us)
Manager | Out of School Time
Pittsburgh

Austin Hobbs (hanselaustin48@gmail.com)
Administrator Assistant | Hansel & Gretel Early Learning Center
Harrisburg

Rosanna Matos (rosanna.matos@firstup.org)
Early Learning Specialist | First Up
Philadelphia

Dawn Nock (dnock@pec-cares.org)
ECE Specialist | People’s Emergency Center
Philadelphia

Dianne Oesterling (doesterling@bcfymca.org)
Director of Child Care and Youth Services | Butler YMCA Child Care Programs
Butler

Ellie Perez (eperez@ywcayork.org)
Program Coordinator | WBYBFI
York

Betsy Spargo (bspargo@lccap.org)
HS/EHS Director | Lawrence County Community Action Partnership
New Castle

Megan Strella (mstrella@lccc.edu)
ECE Adjunct Faculty/Apprenticeship Intermediary Liaison | Lehigh Carbon Community College/Northampton Community College
Lehigh Valley

Minnette Taylor (gtdaycare@comcast.net)
Owner | G & T Daycare, Montessori Program
Philadelphia

Erica Winstead (winsteadschildcare@gmail.com)
Owner/Operation | Winstead’s Childcare
Pittsburgh

Subchapter Workgroup #3: Professional Development (PD), Training & Requirements

This Subchapter includes regulations related to facility persons including suitability, age, qualifications, responsibilities, professional development and preservice training.

OCDEL Lead: Deb Wise (dewise@pa.gov)

Committee members:

Lisa Baer (lbaer@ywcagettysburg.org)
Childcare Director | YWCA Childcare at Adams Commerce Center
Gettysburg

Denise Bermudez (denise.s.bermudez@phila.gov)
Director of PHLPreK | The City of Philadelphia
Philadelphia

Damon Bethea (damon.bethea@unitedwayswpa.org)
Community Impact Manager | United Way of Southwestern PA
Pittsburgh

Jennifer Brennan (jennifer.brennan@wvymca.org)
VP of Child Care | Greater Wyoming Valley Area YMCA
Wilkes Barre

Barrie Byrd (barrieb@shchildservices.org)
Executive Director | Seton Hill Child Services, Inc.
Greensburg

Matthew Charles (mcharles@hempfieldrec.com)
Assistant School-Age Childcare Director | Hempfield RecCenter
Landisville

Nicole Flickinger (theflicks04@comcast.net)
Owner, Director, Early Educator, and Childcare Provider | Nicole Flickinger Family Childcare
Carlisle

Latonta Godboldt (smallwondersfamilydaycare@gmail.com)
Owner/Director | Small Wonders FCCH
Philadelphia

La’Kasha Hines (lhines@nuhhce.org)
Lead Organizer | Childcare Providers United Union
Statewide

C. Eve J. Kimball (doceve1@gmail.com)
MD | PAAAP
Media

Nicolle King (harleowner@aol.com)
Owner/Director | King’s Country Kids
York

Sharon Neilson (sneilson@gphainc.org)
Director | Woodland Academy/GPHA
Philadelphia

Megan Nestor (megan.nestor@alleghenycounty.us)
Deputy Director | Allegheny County Department of Children Initiatives
Pittsburgh

Jennifer Pizer (jen_pizer@champion.org)
Head Preschool Teacher | Champion Christian Preschool & Extended Childcare Services
Champion

Gladys Ramirez-Wrease (gladys.ramirez-wreas@eastern.edu)
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Success | Esperanza College of Eastern University
Philadelphia, PA

Carissa Swiss (swissc@chc.edu)
Assistant Professor/Discipline Chair | Chestnut Hill College Montessori Teacher Education Program
Philadelphia

Julie Townsend (vetjul@me.com)
Director/Behavior Specialist | Mater Dei
Hatfield

Dolores Vazquez (nales@live.com)
Director | Little Tike Learning Center
Slatington

Subchapter Workgroup #4: Early Childhood Education Program

This Subchapter includes regulations related to staff: child ratio, physical site, equipment, fire safety, the program, elements of child and adult health, nutrition, transportation, and adult records.

OCDEL Lead: Tamula Ferguson (tferguson@pa.gov)

Committee members:

Veronica Alvarado-Frias (play@archstreetpreschool.org)
Director | Arch Street Preschool
Philadelphia

Tiffany Bransteitter (tistrickle@pa.gov)
Obesity Prevention & Wellness Section Chief | PA Department of Health
Harrisburg

Tina Carter (tina.ymca@zoominternet.net)
CEO | Meadville YMCA
Meadville

Denise Cressman (cressmanfm@msn.com)
Owner/Operator | Cressman’s Family Child Care
Danville

Danielle Erkoboni (erkobonid@chop.edu)
General Pediatrician | Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia

Kathy Frederick (kfrederick@earlylearningconnections.org)
Program Director | Butler County Children’s Center/Early Learning Connections
Butler

Deborah Gallagher (dgallagher@cotraic.org)
Early Head Start Director | Council of Three Rivers American Indian Center Early Head Start
Pittsburgh

Kristin Haegele Hill (khaegelehill@paaap.org)
Director of Community-Based Initiatives | PA Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics
Media

Mary Jimenez (maryj@uwberks.org)
Early Childhood and Community Engagement Program Manager | United Way of Berks County
Reading

Dolly Kalsi (bethlehempa@goddardschools.com)
Owner | The Goddard School
Bethlehem

Kris LeBeau (theartofplay@comcast.net)
FCC, Owner and Teacher | Art of Play Early Learning Center
Mechanicsburg

Mae Lee (OlympiKTots@gmail.com)
Director | Olympik Tots Early Learning Center
Philadelphia

Crystal Lopez (misscrystal@kiddiecity.net)
Director | Kiddie City Early Learning Center
Allentown

Felis Lynd (flynd@ncymca.org)
Child Development Director | New Castle Community Daycare
New Castle

Karen Machak (kmachak@thelearninglamp.org)
Childcare Program Manager | The Learning Lamp
Johnstown

Crystal Messer (cmesser@gv-ymca.org)
Vice President of Childcare | Greater Valley YMCA
Allentown

Mai Miksic (maim@childrenfirstpa.org)
Early Childhood Education Policy Director | Children First
Philadelphia

Sean Perkins (sean.perkins@phila.gov)
Chief of Early Childhood Education | City of Philadelphia
Philadelphia

Mary Rebe (director@greentreeselc.com)
Director | Green Trees Early Learning Center, Inc.
Milford

Michelle Stevens (learnmdm3@aol.com)
Owner/Operator | Stevens Group Child Care and Michelle Stevens Group Child Care
Chester

Subchapter Workgroup #5: Program Certification & Oversite

This Subchapter includes regulations related to general requirements related to applications, appeals & waivers, building codes and insurance, child abuse reporting, departmental access, emergency plans, and the handling of child records.

OCDEL Lead: Mike Ordonez (mordonez@pa.gov)

Committee members:

Adrienne Briggs (absblessed04@yahoo.com)
Owner/Educator | Lil’ Bits FCCH
Philadelphia

Anita Butz (butz5@comcast.net)
Owner and Operator | Anita L. Butz Family Day Care
Pottsville

Anita Caraway (alincaraway@aol.com)
Child Care Provider | 24 Sunrise Childcare
Philadelphia

Sophia Estrella (director@elevationchildcarecenter.org)
Owner/Director | Elevation Childcare Center
Allentown

Jackie Hawkins (jhawkins@lancasterrec.org)
Director of School Age Care | Lancaster Recreation Commission
Lancaster

Tracy Heutsche (doty.tracy@gmail.com)
Owner/Operator | Tracy Heutsche Family Home Child Care
Erie

Mimi Hong (mimiyhong@gmail.com)
Director | Yuong Sang Academy
Horsham

Dinorah Jerez (dinorahjerez151823@hotmail.com)
Owner/Director | Jesiah Jireh Early Learning Center LLC
York

Ivy Johnson (ivy@yalcpa.org)
Executive Director | Young Achievers Learning Center, Inc.
Philadelphia

Kellie Ketchum-Umphrey (padedeva@gmail.com)
Program Manager, Early Head Start | Council of Three Rivers American Indian
Philadelphia

Kelly Langan (klangan@uncnepa.org)
Director of Children & Teens | United Neighborhood Centers of NEPA
Scranton

Maddy Malis (mmalis@FELSkids.org)
Former FELS CEO/SEPECC Advisory Board | Federation Early Learning Services (FELS)
Philadelphia

Melissa Novatnack (mnovatnack@mcrcerie.org)
Director of Childcare | MCRC
Erie

Leena Patel (philadelphia2pa@goddardschools.com)
Owner | The Goddard School
Philadelphia

Amy Pennycoff (apennycoff@lebanonymca.org)
Director of Community Engagement | Lebanon Valley Family YMCA
Lebanon

Lyzette Rios (lrios.goodlands@gmail.com)
Office Assistant | El Centro Nueva Creación
Philadelphia

Zubeen Saeed (zsaeed@buildingblockslearningcenter.com)
President | Building Blocks Learning Center
Wilkes Barre

Melissa Salgado (msalgado@luthercare.org)
Mentor | Luthercare for kids
Lititz

Neydary Zambrano (nzambrano@magicmemories.org)
President | Magic Memories
Phoenixville